The Rob Lowe-Down On Peyton Manning

Rob Lowe: Handsome man who dabbles in breaking huge NFL news before NFL insiders break it.

We can all take a huge sigh of relief. Rob Lowe’s connections were wrong about Peyton Manning retiring yesterday.

Funny story. Yesterday I got out of work at 3pm, got in my car to leave, and turned on Fox Sports Radio. First thing I hear Vic “The Brick” Jacobs and Steve Hartman say: “We have sources and you won’t hear this news anywhere else – Peyton Manning is done. He will retire.”

I didn’t believe it. While my car is warming up, I grab my phone and start surfing twitter looking for some verification thinking if Manning really dropped the retirement bomb, it would be everywhere. When it wasn’t the first, second, or third story I read from any of the NFL or ESPN reporters I follow, I looked some more, and didn’t find anything.

For the first 20 minutes of my ride home, I’m listening to Vic The Brick and Hartman, they are rambling about Manning’s neck injury, taking calls, and comparing Peyton Manning and Tom Brady, trying to figure out who had the better career.

After those 20 minutes, I had driven out of range for that A.M. station, so I switched to 97.5 The Fanatic. Mikey Miss was talking up Flyers head man Peter Laviolette, and there was absolutely no mention of Peyton Manning retiring. I’m thinking to myself that those Fox Sports knuckleheads have no clue what the hell is going on.

Manning facing retirement?

I get back my apartment and turn ESPN on to see if there is any breaking news about Peyton Manning’s pending retirement. There wasn’t. By this time it is around 4pm, I grab my phone again and hop on twitter. That is when I start to see some talk about Manning, but not just about Manning, about Parks and Recreation actor/Colts fan Rob Lowe?
(Side note: Huge fan of Wayne’s World!)

Then tweets and retweets about Rob Lowe breaking the news of Manning’s retirement seemed to be everywhere. Basically people were ripping Rob Lowe a new one because he was hearing from his sources that Peyton was going to retire yesterday. Peyton Manning is one of my favorite players, and unless his neck injury is career ending, I’m hoping to watch him play for a long time. Seems I was led astray twice in one day about Peyton Manning hanging it up.

Part of me was hoping that Rob Lowe was right. How cool would that be? Breaking the news of Peyton Manning’s retirement. Rob Lowe scooping everyone and making a ton of people on twitter eat some crow! Manning is only one of the most recognizable people on the planet. Lowe would be taking his game up to another level. Not only starring in shows like Parks and Recreation, and The West Wing, but dropping NFL knowledge like it’s hot! He officially would be the show biz total package, and my go-to-guy for sports info, period!

Lowe is already a step up compared to some of the ex-players networks are trying to pass off as analysts now.

Leave a Reply

