Halloween Traditions

Now that Christina and I have our own place I will get to hand out candy to trick or treaters once again. A tradition that I hope to keep alive on a yearly basis from here on out. A tradition that will always have Mongi’s thumbprint on it.

Who didn’t love getting dressed up and running from house to house, loading up on tons of goodies as a youngster on Halloween? I know I was always excited. Trick or treating was always a spooky, good old fun time. It’s what cued my initial intrigue with the chilly, creepy holiday at the end of October.

It was my grandma (Mongi) that spurred my Halloween intrigue past the trick or treating phase. She did what any awesome grandmother would do. She got me Halloween 1-5 for Christmas when I was in 7th or 8th grade. John Carpenter’s Halloween was out of this world scary the first time I saw it. The menacing Michael Myers vs Donald Pleasence’s Dr. Loomis! I’m already starting to get amped for this year’s marathon with the mention of Dr. Loomis. Halloween may have been released over 30 years ago now, but it will still freak out first time viewers. (I love watching it with first timers) That movie gave an identity to the holiday for me, kinda like Santa and Christmas, except this face wasn’t filled with cheer, Michael Myers face was blank… but filled with terror.

“I met him, fifteen years ago. I was told there was nothing left. No reason, no conscience, no understanding; even the most rudimentary sense of life or death, good or evil, right or wrong. I met this six-year-old child, with this blank, pale, emotionless face and, the blackest eyes… the *devil’s* eyes. I spent eight years trying to reach him, and then another seven trying to keep him locked up because I realized what was living behind that boy’s eyes was purely and simply… *evil*.” — Dr. Loomis on Michael Myers

On the days leading up to Halloween I would watch those 5 movies, one per day, with Halloween 5 getting viewed on the 31st. The perfect way to get those spooky vibes rolling with Halloween approaching. I wouldn’t watch them any other time of year. The first Halloween can only be described as classic. It’s by far the best film compared to the rest. The scare left a lasting impression, probably because it wasn’t made for shock value purposes. Kudos John Carpenter!

My buddy Doug Nilsen and I took the marathon to a whole new level when I was at Chowan College (now Chowan University). If I remember correctly we watched 2 horror movies a day in the two-week stretch leading up to Halloween. Impressive I know! How we squeezed in trips to Virginia Beach for Alice Cooper concerts every Halloween too is beyond me? School’s Out, Eighteen, Brutal Planet, Dragontown live… the perfect Halloween concert! Good times.

Now back to Mongi. She deserves major props for not only helping me through my daily life struggles, but for helping me set up my first haunted porch for trick or treaters. Our motto: The more kids we scare away, the more candy for us! Our tools: cornstalks and my first Michael Myers mask, that of course, she purchased for me. I’m currently on my third Myers mask.

October 24th will mark 2 full years since Mongi passed away. It’s only fitting that I start the movie marathon with Halloween on the 24th. I’ll most definitely be thinking about her while I set up for trick or treaters on the 31st.

Wish you could be here Mongi to help dish out candy on my new porch! You helped me along with both of my Halloween traditions, something that will always remind me of you. 🙂 Happy Halloween

3 thoughts on “Halloween Traditions

  1. Thirteen Ghosts with the massively talented Shannen Elizabeth needs to make a comeback into the marathon again this year for ya. Me and Addy watched Halloween V tonight. She seemed to dig it as her first movie.

    • Nice! Christina and I watched Insidious last night… that was one of the creepiest movies I’ve seen in a bit. From what I’ve read online, apparently Insidious and Sinister are two of the scariest movies that have come out in the past 4 to 5 years.

      So far this October I’ve seen The Human Centipede I, Saw, Halloween (2007), House of Wax (The Vincent Price version), Cabin In The Woods, Insidious, and Nightmare On Elm Street (2010). Today the original Halloween is on tap!!

Leave a Reply

