Being Green In 2013

KermitLet’s be clear. I’m not here to chat about recycling (even though I recommend that people should recycle).

Kermit has been saying it for years – “It ain’t easy being green.” And I believe that Green Arrow New 52 comic writers have shared that pain recently. I’m not sure if Kermit has any relief in sight in 2013, but for us Green Arrow fans, things are about to change! I have nothing but good news to relay for fans of GA.

1) The holiday hiatus is over as CW’s Arrow returns tonight with a fresh batch of episodes. Feels like I haven’t seen Arrow since last year. (Bad New Year’s joke, check!)

BurnedThe series is getting tons of fanfare from hardcore Green Arrow diehards and newbies alike midway through the 1st season, and the fun is only just beginning! Multiple story lines are unfolding with intriguing characters – Merlyn the Dark Archer, and Deathstroke to name a couple. I think everyone is looking forward to finding out more of what happened to Oliver on the island. That’s probably the part of the show I’m most excited about. Our weekly dose of GA on the small screen looks like it’s here to stay for a while. **Fist Pump**

Green-Arrow-17

Green Arrow New 52 #17 Cover

2) February 6 is quickly approaching. That’s the date when issue #17 of Green Arrow New 52 drops in stores. The date when Jeff Lemire (Animal Man) starts his much-anticipated run as the new writer for Green Arrow.

Check out this Q&A from November with Jeff Lemire about this new undertaking!

Personally, I’m thrilled that DC found a guy who wants to write GA for the long haul. Hopefully it can be a match made in heaven like Marvel experienced with Ed Brubaker writing Captain America. Green Arrow New 52 has already been through numerous creative teams through 16 issues. Proving it ain’t easy being Green Arrow writers. I think each team started with good intentions, but the stories went nowhere and they were switched out before their initial goals and visions were realized. Which left readers in a not only with bad stories, but unfinished stories to boot.

The cover art for issue #17 speaks for itself. I’m very anxious to see how Andrea Sorrentino, the new artist for Green Arrow, uses this tone to the benefit of GA.

I’m hoping the Lemire and Sorrentino combo lead to a version of Green Arrow fans can reflect upon in a good light. I always recommend Longbow Hunters, and Green Arrow: Year One when talking about GA. I desperately want to read some material that lives up to those benchmarks.

3 thoughts on “Being Green In 2013

  1. No, it certainly isn’t easy being green, using green as a symbolic word for so many things…like not wanting to do anything at the moment. But seriously, how’s that story coming? Where can I find a personal office? And when is Sceptre starting? I was thinking, about the cats, all we have to do is decide to play, and we’ll solve that problem as it comes up…. I might just build a wooden box to set over the game, like a giant platter cover.

    • Maybe we can poke and prod some possible players for sceptre tonight? I forgot to mention it to Christina, but I think that she will play in the end.

      Personal office.. hmmm.. I’m not sure. Your desk isn’t working out for ya?

      • No, it’s not. I need to find someplace that feels like work. Also, Brett mentioned before that he would play….it’d just be a question of making him available. Perhaps we’ll do a Burning Love season of a Sceptre match.

Leave a Reply

