2013 Fantasy Freak Out: Tim Lincecum

Tim Lincecum is the 34th starting pitcher ranked on ESPN’s big board, pre-ranked at 118 overall. My fantasy baseball draft is fast approaching and it seems a little odd to see Lincecum ranked so low after 3 straight years of being one of the first pitchers drafted. But fantasy baseball, like real baseball, is all about what a player has done lately. With “The Freak” listed so low on the board, these questions keep running through my head.

Is this love that I’m feeling?
Is this the love that I’ve been searching for?
Is this love or am I dreaming?
This must be love, cause it’s really got a hold on me.

Well, I guess that last part isn’t necessarily a question, but it just felt right to include it.

For a guy who is only heading into his 7th MLB season and has already won two Cy Young awards, I find it very hard not to consider drafting Tim Lincecum at such a discounted price.

I get the vibe in the realm of fantasy baseball, fantasy managers seem to feel that “The Freak” is through. Baseball experts have been waiting for Lincecum to have his arm fall off and turn into dust due to his unique pitching mechanics and 2012 seemed to be the straw that broke Tim Lincecum’s back. I understand that last season was a nightmarish season for Lincecum. The velocity of his fastball dropped considerably from 2011 to 2012, dipping from 92.2 mph to 90.4, and that his ERA (Earned Run Average) and WHIP (Walks/Hits per Inning) were each at a career worst, but I’m not willing to call it quits due to one rough season.

Lincecum lost his mojo last year. Maybe his new look will help him rediscover it?

Lincecum lost his mojo last year. Maybe his new look will help him rediscover it in 2013?

The 4 seasons leading up to 2012 he received votes for the National League Cy Young award, and like I previously mentioned, he brought home the goods twice. Yeah he might have been relegated to the bullpen a season ago, but I only see Lincecum as a cheap bounce back candidate at 28 years old and pre-ranked 118.

Last season Lincecum still approached 200 strikeouts and his walk rate only increased by a hair. Other than his rookie season, last year is the only year he didn’t pitch 200 innings or reach 200 strikeouts.

I haven’t seen any MLB Spring Training so far this season yet, so I’m not aware if Lincecum is struggling. But solely based on his career numbers, I think Lincecum is hands-down worth a look where ESPN has him ranked. Forget about breaking out… he’s already done that. Lincecum is poised to Freak Out!

5 thoughts on “2013 Fantasy Freak Out: Tim Lincecum

    • 200 Innings: 3.55 ERA, 1.29 WHIP, 210 K’s… and he keeps the ball in the yard more this season. If his velocity jumps back up, I think the numbers get even better.

  1. With consecutive years of ERA’s way above league average and negative WAR’s, this article has aged about as well as a cheese steak left on a sidewalk in July. 🙂

Leave a Reply

