Bringing Balance Back To The World

mm44_balance

For years, I was continuously frustrated by the one and only Matt Riggleman when we would sit down to play Magic: The Gathering. He started collecting/playing MTG about a year or so before I did. Rigg is the guy who introduced me to the game.

Even now, I can still remember the first game I played against him. He only had 4 or 5 decks at the time. One of which was, for lack of a better term, a “classic” black deck. A deck that featured huge creature cards like Lord of the Pit, Spirit of the Night, and Nightmare, along with some smaller dudes like Sengir Vampire and Hypnotic Specter (keep in mind, this is probably summer of ’96 and 5th Edition hadn’t come out yet). He gave me a red and green deck —-> a deck that featured Tinder Wall. Yes, that Tinder Wall… it was like sending lambs to the slaughter. Anyway… let’s get back on track shall we?

I’m gonna guesstimate that Riggleman up and sold his collection around 2003/2004ish? Definitely before he graduated college in 2005. And I, on the other hand, still have my collection. So every now and then I’ll say something to Rigg and we’ll sit down and play.

MTG-BalanceUnfortunately for me, when we play the results are the same as when we used to play back in the 90’s – udder defeat. And for those who don’t know me, I will let you know this little tid bit of info – There are very few things that bother me as much as losing to Riggleman – from battle mode on Mario Kart 64 & Goldeneye 64, to the Broiler in Big Bumpin’ on XBox 360, I hate it. But I especially hate losing to him in Magic. Picture a fierce sibling rivalry… then picture being on the losing end of this rivalry… it feels like that, with years of defeat compounding upon each other.

That said, sometime within the last year and a half I decided that I should build a deck that Riggleman would never beat. A deck he would grow to completely despise, bringing “Balance” back to the world.

I’ve always wanted to have a fully functioning, overwhelming deck that would dominate in every facet of the game. And I’ve also always wanted a sweet Balance deck, so merging the two ideas seemed natural to me.

Here is my Balance deck to render Riggleman completely helpless. He actually faced a demo/rough version of this deck 2 or 3 times before it’s completion (complaining the entire time – which I reveled in) and lost each game.

MTG Crucible Of WorldsBringing Balance Back To The World

White Cards:
3x Balance
3x Land Tax

Red Cards:
4x Mogg Fanatic
4x Mogg Maniac
4x Seismic Assault
4x Pyroclasm

Artifacts:
2x Crucible of Worlds
3x Zuran Orb
4x Lotus Pedals
4x Howling Mine

Lands:
20x Mountains
5x Plains

Ok… so I forgot to mention exactly how many banned or restricted cards I included. Hahaha

2 thoughts on “Bringing Balance Back To The World

Leave a Reply

