A Sleepless Night Due To Game Of Thrones

Oberyn-vs-mountain-a-song-of-ice-and-fire

Prince Oberyn with spear in hand as he’s about to clash with The Mountain.

I will start off by stating that I have not read any books from George R. R. Martin’s A Song of Fire and Ice series which is the source material for HBO’s Game of Thrones. So to say I was not prepared for what I witnessed Sunday night would be a huge understatement.

***If you haven’t viewed the episode yet, or read the book, spoilers are ahead.***

I was left with a speechless-type emptiness, shocked to the point of restlessness when I laid down to go to sleep after watching “The Mountain and the Viper”.

Prince Oberyn

Prince Oberyn Martell with his wife Ellaria Sand in HBO’s Game of Thrones

Prince Oberyn Martell of Dorne, the Red Viper (who became one of my favorites, if not my favorite character on the show since appearing at the beginning of season 4) representing Tyrion Lannister, and Sir Gregor Clegane, known simply as the Mountain due to his ridiculously imposing size, representing Queen Cersei. Facing off in a trial by combat to determine Tyrion’s fate (Tyrion has been accused of poisoning/murdering the King) was the moment most Game of Thrones fans have been waiting for all season. And now I know why.

I knew the Mountain was formidable. I knew within the realm of Westeros, the Mountain was definitely considered the favorite to win this battle. Most of all, I knew with George R. R. Martin’s reputation, to expect the unexpected. And I still was taken back with Prince Oberyn literally getting his eyes gauged out and his skull literally crushed into a pile of goo.

The loop of that scene getting played over and over in my head was unbearable. I could not stop thinking about it. It was horrifying. Hated every second of it. The combination of my favorite character meeting his demise and the manner in which his demise was met was too much for me to handle.

If Prince Oberyn would have just finished off the Mountain when he had the chance. All would not be lost. Instead he demanded a confession from The Mountain about raping and murdering his sister and her killing her children. The Red Viper got his confession, but lost his life in the process.

Prince Oberyn – You will be missed. Other than the fact that your death caused a sleepless Sunday night and dreadful Monday thinking about your demise – this post is the only way I felt I could honor your awesomeness throughout your stay in Westeros.

R.I.P. Red Viper of Dorne.
I look forward to the day we meet the Sand Snakes.

 

Leave a Reply

