Nightwing: The Series (Pretty Sweet Fan Films)

nightwing-the-series-logo-promo-awesome-nightwing-fan-film-teaserIf you are an avid reader here on MHB, than you probably know already that I’m a fairly big fan of comic book related material.

With the billions of dollars being raked in these days from blockbuster movie after movie. It’s probably fair to say I’m not the only one who has an interest in these properties.

Marvel comics are well into their shared movie universe. If you’ve seen Iron Man, Captain America, or The Avengers, then you know about the Marvel movie universe.

Now, DC comics finally announced a slate of films through the year 2020 exploring a shared movie universe of their own. A list that includes Batman vs Superman: Dawn of Justice, The Flash, Cyborg, Green Lantern, and (the biggie) The Justice League. Which is pretty freakin’ awesome if you ask me. I’m a DC fan, so I’ve been patiently waiting for this news.

Anyway, what I’m trying to say…

Aside from these huge blockbuster movies, fans are starting to take matters into their own hands with these awesome characters. If you look, anyone can find fan made films on YouTube. Most have no budget, so the writer(s)/producer(s)/director(s) do the best they can with what they have available. Which I appreciate. But once in a while, you’ll stumble onto something very interesting. And Nightwing: The Series is one of those interesting ones. Cue trailer now…

I saw this teaser trailer a while back and literally thought it was just a nice fan-made trailer. Just somebody giving a shout out to Nightwing. Which is totally cool, cause I’m a Nightwing fan. It’s something I’ve encountered in the past – a trailer with no actual material except the trailer. But this time I was mistaken. So far ismahawk has posted 4 episodes (one every Monday since 9/29/14) and they’re pretty impressive.

Batman - Battle_for_the_CowlThis week (what a coincidence, I know), I read Tony S. Daniel’s Batman: Battle For The Cowl. And there is some good Nightwing within these pages. So I went back to YouTube looking for the Nightwing trailer only to find that episodes have been posted. Jackpot!

The two fellows who run the ismahawk YouTube channel have done a good job. And I thought that I should do my part in helping this series get some views. Go ahead… Watch ’em already!

Episode 1 – Deathstroke
Episode 2 – Origins
Episode 3 – Descent
Episode 4 – Oracle

 

Leave a Reply

