Ranking My Favorite NFL Squads

Colts Broncos Football

Peyton & The Denver Broncos can only look in the mirror after losing to the Colts yesterday.

The NFL playoffs – the best of times and the worst of times all at once.

I absolutely love to watch the NFL playoffs. It’s so hard to predict what will happen when 2 good teams meet and only one will advance closer their ultimate goal: The Super Bowl. I know piles of NFL analysts and fans assert their convictions on what WILL transpire on the field, but no one truly knows. That’s why fans (myself especially) keep coming back for more. To see exactly what plays out and exactly how it happens.

For those who have never read my blog previously or don’t know me – I’m a proud Washington Redskins fan. But the Skins are a team who haven’t had any playoff success over the last decade. I know, that’s probably putting in mildly. AND with the past few years ending with a conglomerate of teams that I REALLY despise holding the Lombardi Trophy, it’s been a double whammy.

2011: The New York Giants
2012: The Baltimore Ravens
2013: The Seattle Seahawks
2014: We’re down to 4 – Patriots, Colts, Packers, & Seahawks… who will it be?

This past weekend with the Baltimore Ravens and the Dallas Cowboys losing (both the heartbreaking variety I might add), I can happily scratch two of my most reviled teams off the list that could spoil the Super Bowl outcome this year.

Which brings me to the reason for this post: to rank the NFL teams from my Redskins to the teams I cannot stand. Here we go!

My list is broken down into tiers – but order of appearance STILL MATTERS. The lower on the list, the lower the love. I will say in general, I gravitate towards NFC teams.

Favorites – Will always root for, during the good and rough seasons. Only room for 1 team in this tier. No breakdown to why they are here is necessary.

  • The Washington Redskins
Washington-Redskins-Ryan-Kerrigan-91

Stud LB Ryan Kerrigan. It’s a shame the Redskins aren’t taking advantage of this great defensive play.

Teams I Generally Root For – Unless facing the Redskins or the outcome of the game affects the Redskins in standings. If facing each other, I root for the team higher on the list.

  • The Green Bay Packers
  • The Denver Broncos – (Only due to Peyton Manning, if Manning were still on Indy, Indy would be here)
  • The New England Patriots – (Though NE typically the villain, as a Michigan Wolverines fan, I keep tabs on Mr. Brady.)

Follow Due To Some Family Members – These teams would probably rank a tad lower if not for family ties.

  • The New York Jets
  • The Chicago Bears

Teams I Watch & Sometimes Root For, But Like Other Teams More

  • The Pittsburgh Steelers
  • The Indianapolis Colts
  • The New Orleans Saints
  • The Detroit Lions
  • The Kansas City Chiefs

Teams In Complete Limbo – Nothing I like or dislike. Tough to get a beat on these…

  • The Arizona Cardinals
  • The Cleveland Browns
  • The Buffalo Bills

Teams That Lose And I Get A Kick Out Of It – Not much love here. Generally don’t care about any of these squads, but definitely under teams in limbo in my book. Mostly AFC garbage.

  • The Minnesota Vikings
  • The Miami Dolphins
  • The Oakland Raiders
  • The Tennessee Titans
  • The Houston Texans
  • The Jacksonville Jaguars

Complete Blah Teams – This list contains blah teams, dislike teams, and hate teams. Some hate teams because only 5 can make the bottom 5.

  • The Atlanta Falcons
  • The Carolina Panthers
  • The Cincinnati Bengals
  • The St. Louis Rams
  • The San Fransisco 49ers
  • The San Diego Chargers
  • The Philadelphia Eagles

THE BOTTOM 5 – I UTTERLY & COMPLETELY DESPISE EACH OF THESE TEAMS.

  • The Tampa Bay Buccaneers
  • The New York Giants
  • The Seattle Seahawks
  • The Baltimore Ravens
  • The Dallas Cowboys

And there you have it. Been meaning to do this post for quite some time. Finally, this exorcise is complete.

6 thoughts on “Ranking My Favorite NFL Squads

  1. 4 comments:
    1) I want to see this breakdown done prior to MLB Opening Day for baseball.
    2) If I was doing it, I’d have a middle section of “Teams I used to hate, but they’re so sad that I can’t despise them anymore and I want them to be temporarily at least decent so I can hate them again” and have -Raiders, -Redskins, and -Dolphins
    3) How could the Chargers be so low? Phillip Rivers is the man, LDT was an icon, they typically have the hottest cheerleaders, and two words: “powder blue”.
    4) I’m not sure you can have the Steelers in any of the middle rungs. You either like sexually assaulting QB’s and guys like James Harrison, or you don’t. There’s no middle ground. Same thing for the Cowboys and Patriots (you had them correctly end up at the north and south poles).

    • If anything, I should probably reshuffle the blah, dislike, and hate list like this…

      Blah:
      The Atlanta Falcons
      The Carolina Panthers
      The Cincinnati Bengals

      Dislike:
      The Philadelphia Eagles
      The St. Louis Rams – I respect that Jeff Fischer is able to hold onto a job. But man, this guy gets the most credit for finishing 8-8 or worse. Plus – Trolling RG3 this year was completely unnecessary. With that little zinger, he lost any respect that I did have for him.

      Hate:
      The San Fransisco 49ers – HATE KAEP. Don’t really like Crabtree. Love most of the defensive players. But Kaep destroys any positive feelings I could have for this team. Only time I root for them is vs the Seahawks – and Kaep always comes up short.
      The San Diego Chargers – Getting rid of Schottenheimer & replacing him with Norv Turner – NORV!!! That is enough for eternal hate. Plus – all the years of being hyped and NEVER coming thru. Rivers is decent, but I don’t like him. I prefer Brees a 1,000 times over. LT was good, Junior Seau was a favorite of mine. Other than those two, can’t say I’m really a fan of any Charger. Maybe Marion Butts since he was on Super Tecmo Bowl. Lol. I never experienced the real Chargers with Dan Fouts… so there isn’t any lingering “good vibes”.

  2. Oh no you didn’t. Getting rid of Schottenheimer (who somehow went 8-8 with Tony Banks at QB) to replace him with Spurrier is better?

    • I hate that the Redskins got rid of him too… but he didn’t go 14-2 with the Redskins only to be fired.

      That happened with the Chargers and it never should have. I believe AJ Smith was the GM.. and he should be ashamed.

      • I will always feel Marty Schottenheimer was a heck of a coach and had a few bounces gone his way he’d be viewed totally differently. Same way I don’t think Shanahan was a very good coach, but he happened to displace Dan Reeves as the Broncos were becoming one of the top to bottom best teams in the past 20 years. I think measuring a coach by championships isn’t giving luck or player execution justice.

Leave a Reply

