A Possible Masters of the Universe Reboot?

He-Man-Battle-Cat-Toys

Original Masters of the Universe toys from Mattel.

First, before I say anything else, I must proclaim that I was a big He-Man fan as a kid. I watched the show. I had many of the toys such as He-Man, Battle Cat, etc… But before yesterday, I must admit, that I had zero recollection of anything He-Man related except He-Man, Skeletor, and the phrase, “By the power of Grayskull. I have the power!”

Then yesterday, out of the blue, I saw an article talking about a possible He-Man reboot. So I clicked on it.

The article talked about how Masters of the Universe has actually been in development limbo since 2011, but that there might be a light at the end of the tunnel. Also about how Jeff Wadlow, the director from Kick-Ass 2, rewrote the script that has been rewritten 2 or 3 times over the past 4 years. Sony, who has the movie rights to Masters of the Universe, just has to determine whether or not the script is legit… or if they have to go back to the drawing board.

The last time Masters of the Universe hit the big screen was in 1987 starring Dolph Lundgren as He-Man. The movie wasn’t the commercial smash Mattel hoped it would be for the fading toy line. And it wasn’t really received well by He-Man, or general science fiction fans, due to the (almost blatant) Star Wars/Back To The Future/Conan the Barbarian rip-off it appeared to be.

MastersOfTheUniverse-Movie-PosterIf you haven’t seen Dolph as He-Man, it is actually available on Netflix right now (as I’m writing this Oct 2015). And you can determine for yourself if it is a complete rip-off of everything that was popular in the 80’s.

In a world where it seems everything is getting a reboot (to the point where it is almost nauseating). I’m actually rooting for a Masters of the Universe reboot to make it out of development hell and onto the big screen. But who knows… Only Sony has the POWER!!

2 thoughts on “A Possible Masters of the Universe Reboot?

  1. I like the original movie. It’s a good flick. Dolph is excellent and the main characters are pretty compelling. I don’t have confidence they could make a good redo nowadays. The characters have potential, but I don’t think they’d capture it right. Kind of like how they crashed trying to do GI Joe and Ninja Turtles again. Some things were just pure 80’s and need to stay that way.

    • Yea, I guess I never really thought about the GI Joe/Turtles side of this topic. (Turtles producers should have known to stay away from Michael Bay as director)

      I just think that the Masters of the Universe lends itself to be done akin to LOTR/Hobbit style. And since I love those movies, I’d def be interested in seeing a legit He-Man adaptation.

Leave a Reply

