1st Post In The New Year

Don’t look now, but we’re already a week into 2016. It’s unreal.

I can still vividly remember the VP at Chowan College, Randy Harrell, coming into my class on Tuesday September 11th, 2001 to bring everyone to the student center to watch coverage of a plane crash in NY. This September will be the 15 year anniversary….

I still remember driving a fork lift at Dart Container in February 2005.. when I officially decided that I wasn’t gonna let the ultimate Frisbee league I had formed and ran in 20o4 be a one year and done flash in the pan. That was over 10 years ago now.

I could go on and on about different memories and how much time has passed since they happened. Anyone can do that. The point I’m trying to get across is that in those instances, I know for certain in each of those moments, I had absolutely no clue where I’d be in my life in 2016. I think I can say that is true for any single snapshot of my life before 2011.

2016 is here. Christina and I are married and are officially homeowners now. Our daughter Mackenzie is a year old and baby Horn #2 is due in May. This year promises to be a whirlwind for sure. And I’m looking forward to it. 🙂

Anyway, now that all the reminiscing is out of the way, there are 2 specific things I’d like to share with my MHB faithful about what 2016 has in store.

free-golf-pacakageA) My New Year’s Resolution is underway – aka the goal of beating my brother in golf in 2016. We already got our first round in on an unusually warm January 2nd day at Crossgates in Millersville.

I didn’t fare so well. I shot a 108 (56 on the front, 52 on the back) with my lone par coming on the 16th. I actually felt good with my putter most of the day. I made a few putts from about 10 feet. Brian on the other hand, shot a 91. So I have my work cut out for me.

mtg-grand-prixB) Yesterday I discovered that there is a Grand Prix event for Magic: The Gathering players in Washington D.C. March 11-13 this year. A Grand Prix is an open MTG event for any and all players: amateur, more serious, and professional players.

This is a really intriguing prospect to me. Not because I have the grandiose idea of going and winning by any means (though that would be nice since the prize is $10,000 for the winner), but going just for the experience. Feels like it would be a sweet life experience type thing to go to and compete in a field of over 1,000 players.

I’m currently trying to convince a few of my fellow players to join me on this voyage to D.C…. We shall see how it turns out.

Happy New Year everybody! I hope you stop by for some more awesomeness on MHB in 2016 and beyond.

Leave a Reply

