Leaping Back

Peyton-RG3Its kinda crazy to think when August rolls around this year, MHB will be 5 years old. Meaning that is the second time MHB will have had the chance to post something on Feb 29.

Sadly, on Feb 29 2012, I did not post anything. So this will be my first post ever on a 29th of February and I’m pumped up about it.

After venturing through some MHB archives, in the earliest days of March in 2012, I was posting about Peyton Manning’s departure from the Indianapolis Colts. Flash forward to 2016 – looks like Manning will be departing from the Denver Broncos this go round, and probably the NFL for good. I just want to take a moment and give a shout out to Peyton, who was easily one of my favorite players to watch as a big fan of the NFL over the course of his career. Peyton – you are the man.

Also, NFL/MHB related in March 2012, the Redskins had the 2nd pick in the upcoming NFL draft and one Robert Griffin III was the QB lined up to be the franchise quarterback for the next 10 to 15 years. RG3 – You are also the man. I’m a big fan of RG3, and I wish him the best moving on. It was very hard for me to watch the Redskins coaching staff openly sabotage Griffin’s time in DC. But RG3’s time is over in Washington and I’ll fully support the Redskins and Kirk Cousins (who also was drafted in that 2012 class) moving forward.

What a difference 4 years makes, right? Seems like a blink but in actuality, it’s a decent chunk of time. Only time will tell how everything will unfold by the time Feb 29, 2020 rolls around… I can only pray that Kirk Cousins has taken over the league and is leading the Redskins to some more Super Bowl titles and someone other than Donald Trump was president by the next leap year.

Leave a Reply

