The Mystery Of It All…

MysteryI can’t exactly pinpoint why I like the idea of a mystery so much, but man, there is no denying that really enjoy a good mystery.

L.A. Confidential and The Usual Suspects… Two of my all-time favorite movies, starring probably my favorite actor (Kevin Spacey) both mysteries. 24 starring Kiefer Sutherland has long been one of my favorite TV shows too. And even though it is an adrenaline rush of a show, the twists and the reveal of the unknowns are what kept me coming back.

It’s a shame I’m not a huge reader, because I feel like I would probably enjoy all the Sherlock Holmes books by Sir Authur Conan Doyle. I really dig the BBC’s Sherlock starring Benedict Cumberbatch. And we all know that Mr. Holmes is the world’s greatest detective, right?

Anyways… Christina rekindled my intrigue of mysteries with a great Valentine’s Day gift. 🙂

While on a trip to Barnes & Noble with Mackenzie, Christina decided to check out the graphic novel/comic trade section snooping for a possible gift idea. While sifting through Batman comics she read the synopsis of a few to take a gander at which one I might like the most. (Doing so off a comment I had made a few days earlier about wanting to watch a good “who-done-it” mystery.)

IMG_0728

Easily my favorite comic!! 🙂

So on Valentine’s Day, she gave me the Batman trade she picked up for me. I opened it only to find literally my favorite Batman comic – Hush by Jim Lee & Jepf Loeb.

I was shocked on 2 accounts..

  • I hadn’t read a comic, or even talked about any comic to/with her in close to a year.
  • How on earth did she know that Hush was my favorite? It’s a book I almost bought myself multiple times.

Turns out Christina unknowingly picked out my favorite comic as a gift and it didn’t take long for me to dive into Hush. Read it again. Loved it again. And now my antennas are up and searching for more great mystery genre material. So, any of you reading this have any good mystery suggestions for me, please send them my way!!

 

2 thoughts on “The Mystery Of It All…

Leave a Reply

